Preventive Health Training FAQs

The Preventive Health Training and Technical Assistance Program, developed by CCHP with support through the California Department of Education (CDE), Early Learning and Care Division improves access to EMSA-approved, eight-hour Preventive Health training required for licensing. The train-the-trainers program expands the number of qualified trainers at R&R agencies in California. In addition, CCHP provides ongoing technical assistance to certified trainers on health and safety issues in ECE programs in California.

For information about CCHP Preventive Health Training Affiliates, visit cchp.ucsf.edu/pht.

Preventive Health Training and
Technical Assistance Program

How can I become a UCSF-CCHP Affiliate Preventive Health Trainer?

To become a UCSF-CCHP Affiliate Preventive Health Trainer you must complete the two-day Training of Trainers; have a current CPR/First Aid card; have at least eight hours experience teaching on a Health and/or Safety topic; and work for a California Child Care Resource & Referral Agency (R&R).

Is the UCSF-CCHP Preventive Health Training curriculum EMSA Approved?

Yes, the UCSF-CCHP Preventive Health Training curriculum is EMSA approved. Renewal of EMSA approval is required every two years. We renew our curriculum in even-numbered years.

What does it cost to attend the UCSF-CCHP Training of Trainer events?

The UCSF-CCHP Training of Trainers is funded by the California Department of Education (CDE), Early Learning and Care Division (ELCD) to increase access to the eight hour Preventive Health training required to be a licensing child care provider throughout California. There is no cost to prospective trainers to attend the Training of Trainers. Priority registration is given to California Preventive Health and Safety Practices (CPHSP) Hubs, R&R staff who serve clients speaking languages other than English, and R&R staff in geographically remote regions of California.  

How can I find out about upcoming UCSF-CCHP Training of Trainer events?

Send an email to [email protected] to find out about dates and locations for upcoming Training of Trainer events and to get on the list to receive registration information.

What is a CPHSP Hub?

Regional CPHSP Hubs are located in 17 R&Rs throughout California.  The Hubs receive CDE funding as a grant award to support Preventive Health and Safety Practices in their region.  The Hubs must use this funding to employ a Preventive Health Trainer who has a 50% FTE position teaching the eight hour Preventive Health class to child care providers in the region. 

Can Preventive Health trainers use CDE funding from the CPHSP grant award to buy snacks and meals for the eight hour Preventive Health training?

No. State funds cannot be used to pay for food.  But you can collect a small fee from attendees as a “hospitality charge” to pay for food.  We suggest that Preventive Health trainers can charge a fee ranging from $5.00-$20.00 to provide snacks and/or lunch during the eight hour training. (It’s a long day to go without food!).  If you want the training to be completely free for attendees, you might suggest participants bring a lunch or give them ample time to go out for lunch.  If you give attendees an hour for lunch off site, you’d have to include it in the total time.  For example, start at 8:00 and end at 5:00 with an hour for lunch. By law, the training has to be eight hours long. Incidentally, you can use CDE funds to buy water.

Are your training materials available in Spanish or Chinese?

Yes.  Our slide presentations, student handouts, and student handbook are available in Spanish and Chinese.  Our slide presentations are also available in Russian and Farsi.

I am not a staff member of California Child Care Resource & Referral Agency. How do I become a Preventive Health trainer?

You will need to pursue certification as an independent Preventive Health Training Program Director through EMSA.

Here is a link to the EMSA website for trainers: https://emsa.ca.gov/childcare_instructor/  Here, you will find the application to become a Preventive Health Training Program Director. You are welcome to use the Preventive Health curriculum materials we have developed.  Please do not make any alterations to the materials unless EMSA requires you to do so.  Also, please submit the “Request for Permission to Reprint” form from our Preventive Health Training Materials page.
 

How will the new lead poisoning prevention requirements affect my Preventive Health classes?

According to a new law, child care providers applying for their license will need to take a new version of the 8-hour Preventive Health class that includes specific lead poisoning prevention content.  This will go in to effect on July 1, 2020.  This means Preventive Health trainers will need to start teaching a new version of the class in the months leading up to July 1, 2020.  UCSF-CCHP will issue the 4th edition of our curriculum, with the new lead content, by June 1, 2020 (or sooner).  While you are still teaching with the 3rd edition, please encourage providers to apply for their site license as soon as possible.  If they wait until after July 1 to complete their application, they may have to retake the 8-hour Preventive Health class.